Adi Shankaracharya's Soundarya Lahari

Adi Shankaracharya's Soundarya Lahari
Categories : CD's  ,  Manthras&Chants
Author: Dr.M.L.Vasathakumari
Publisher: Geethanjali
Price: Rs.200 Rs.180


All products sold at are 100% brand new and original books

Free Home Delivery for order value greater than Rs.400, otherwise add Rs.35 for shipping

The hymn of Saundarayalahari contains 100 poems (verses) of four lines each said to be written by jagadguru Shri Adi Shankaracharaya (8th Century Indian Philosopher). Legend of this work is often substantiated by the distinct difference that is present in the two sets of poems “Anandalahari”. The waves of bliss (verses 1 to 42) and “Saundarayalahari” – The waves of beauty (verses 43 to 100) the complete set is known as Saundarayalahari. Anandalahari deals with the Mantra, Yantra and Tantra practices of Shaktha cult. The Shaktha system is a system of rituals accompanied by Meditation based on Advaita philosophy. Shaktha sect worships Devi through rituals and meditation and is based on a non-dual interpretation of reality. These verses are on a metaphysical plane, describing the philosophical & spiritual aspects of Shakthi worship. A notable feature of this set of verses is that the verses are not interlinked in anyway, they stand apart. The language is also highly transcendental in nature. Saundaryalahari, the second part, is a description of the Supreme Mother from crown to feet, as a description of the vision the Shri Adi Shankaracharya experienced. These verses are said to be written by Shri Shankaracharaya himself. He made generous us of figures of speech of Sanskrit poetcs. However, the term “Saundaryalahari” is now commonly applied to the entire hundred verses.

Write a review

Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

Featured Publishers
  • Thirumagal Nilayam
  • Kannadasan Pathipagam
  • Vanathi Publications
  • Kizhakku Pathippagam
  • Vikatan Media Services
  • Prema Pirasuram
  • Narmadha Padhippagam
  • Giri Trading
  • Sri Ramakrishna Math
  • Gowra Puthaga Maiyam
  • Sandhya Publications
  • Puthiya Thalaimurai
  • Kalachuvadu Pathipagam
  • Sixth Sense Publications
  • Kavitha Publications
  • Ethir Veliyedu
  • Manjul Publishing House
  • Isha Foundation
Copyright 2012-2013 - Online Tamil Book Store, India. All Rights Reserved